<< back to releases

Press Contact

Laura McElroy
MK Communications




18th Annual Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards to be held Feb. 28th
Prestigious Awards Honor Community Development and Architectural Achievements
in Chicago’s Neighborhoods

WHAT: 18th Annual Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards
WHEN: Tuesday, Feb. 28, 2012 | 3:00 p.m. – Forum: “Five Big Ideas for the 21st Century City.” Presenters will showcase their five best ideas for taking Chicago into the next century | 4:30 – Awards Ceremony | 6:00 – Reception
WHO: Special guests Mayor Rahm Emanuel (invited); event chair Wim Elfrink, Cisco Systems; Richard H. Driehaus; 1,400 community development leaders and elected officials

WHERE: Chicago Hilton & Towers | 720 S. Michigan Ave., Chicago, IL
CHICAGO – As Chicago grows in stature on the national and international stage, it is challenged to build a new kind of future that expands opportunity and maximizes the impact of investments in technology, architecture, art, education and community. To celebrate the innovators and the doers that are taking Chicago forward, Local Initiatives Support Corporation Chicago (LISC Chicago) will recognize the best community development projects at the 18th annual Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards (CNDA) on February 28. Wim Elfrink, executive vice president and chief globalization officer of Cisco Systems, will chair the event, which honors both organizations and individuals for their contributions to community development and architecture in Chicago. The theme of this year’s event—“Building the 21st Century City”— underscores the necessity of investing in Chicago’s future to make it a globally competitive and culturally vibrant city. Managed by LISC Chicago, CNDA is Chicago’s oldest and largest community development awards ceremony. The event will also feature the presentation of the Richard H. Driehaus Foundation Awards for Architectural Excellence in Community Design— marking the 15th year of the awards. More than 1,500 community development leaders and elected officials are expected to attend the ceremony, held at Chicago Hilton & Towers. 
The day’s events will begin with a forum in which four of Chicago’s “thought leaders” will present their ideas for making Chicago a truly 21st century city. Using a fast-paced and innovative presentation style, four of Chicago’s thought leaders will rapidly present their own big ideas for the 21st century city, displaying 15 images for 15 seconds each. The forum, moderated by David Doig of Chicago Neighborhood Initiatives, will feature presentations from Theaster Gates, University of Chicago; Alicia Gonzalez, Chicago Run; Melissa Harris, Chicago Tribune; and Daniel O’Neil, Smart Chicago Collaborative. Using an exciting presentation format, the forum will also call on audience members to offer their own big ideas.
At the ceremony, ten awards will be presented to the local architects, community leaders and developers behind some of Chicago’s most innovative facilities and programs. Award categories include: outstanding community strategy; outstanding non-profit and for profit real estate projects; outstanding affordable rental housing preservation; special recognition; architectural excellence in community design; and the friend of the neighborhoods award.
The Chicago Neighborhood Development Awards were established in 1995 to bring visibility and focus to community-based development in Chicago. Through the awards, CNDA’s sponsors hope to increase the interaction and cooperation among the business, government, real estate, non-profit and philanthropic leaders who are engaged in making the city’s neighborhoods better and stronger.

This year’s awards are generously underwritten by:

Allstate; Bank of America; BMO Harris Bank; Charter One; Chase; The Chicago Community Trust; CISCO; Citi; LISC/Chicago; Northern Trust; PNC; Polk Bros. Foundation; The Private Bank; The Richard H. Driehaus Foundation; StateFarm; US Bank; Applegate & Thorne-Thomsen, PC; Brinshore Development; Camiros, Ltd.; Chicago Bears; Chicago Community Loan Fund; Cole Taylor Bank; Community Reinvestment Fund; Enterprise Community Investment, Inc.; Federal Home Loan Bank of Chicago; Fifth Third Bank ; FirstMerit Bank; The Habitat Company; Holsten Real Estate Development; Illinois Housing Development Authority; Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP; MB Financial Bank; Matanky Realty; Miner, Barnhill & Galland, P.C.; National Equity Fund; Reznick Group; Teska Associates, Inc.; Urban Development Fund, LLC; Urban Partnership Bank; and The Walsh Group.

For more information, visit www.lisc-cnda.org or email cnda@lisc.org.