Driehaus Prize Colloquium                                                                    Contact: MK Communications

Saturday, March 23 – 11 a.m.                                                                            (for Richard H. Driehaus)

John B. Murphy Auditorium, Chicago                                                                  312-822-0505  


Climate-Friendly Global Cities: What’s Beauty Got to Do With It?

 Internationally renowned architects take center stage at the Driehaus Prize Colloquium


CHICAGO (March 14, 2019) – With the challenges of population growth and migration, climate change, shrinking natural resources and urban sprawl now global issues, how can architects and urban planners create sustainable cities that stand the test of time?

Answers to that question will be put forth when the 2019 Driehaus Prize laureate and other renowned architects and urbanists gather for the public colloquium organized as part of the award celebration for the Richard H. Driehaus Prize at the University of Notre Dame.

Moderated by influential urbanist, Chicago architect, author and planner, Doug Farr, the international panel includes: Maurice Culot, the 2019 Richard H. Driehaus Prize laureate whose work reshaped how architects and planners think about new and renewing cities; 2017 Driehaus Prize laureate, architect, planner and author, Robert Adam; President and CEO of Landmarks Illinois, Bonnie McDonald; and architect Julie Hacker who serves on the Evanston Preservation Commission.

The colloquium follows the presentation of the two annual prizes: the $200,000 Driehaus Prize to Mr. Culot, and the $50,000 Henry Hope Reed Award to artist Carl Laubin. 

Both awardees were chosen by a jury composed of Robert Davis, developer and founder of Seaside, Florida; Melissa Del Vecchio, partner at Robert A.M. Stern Architects; Paul Goldberger, contributing editor at Vanity Fair; Elizabeth Plater-Zyberk, founding principal of DPZ; Demetri Porphyrios, principal of Porphyrios Associates; and Witold Rybczynski, Meyerson professor emeritus of Urbanism at the University of Pennsylvania. 

The Richard H. Driehaus Prize was established in 2003 to honor those whose work embodies and inspires sustainable buildings and cities that reflect the enduring values of classical and traditional architecture.  The Henry Hope Reed Award honors an individual working outside the practice of architecture who has supported the cultivation of the traditional city, its architecture and art through writing, planning or promotion. 

Free and open to the public, the Colloquium and Driehaus Prize ceremony will be held from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. on Saturday, March 23, at the John B. Murphy Auditorium, 50 East Erie Street, Chicago. For additional information, call (312) 822-0505 or